Hey!

So for anyone out there who is actually reading this blog you've probably notice that I've dropped off the face of the planet for the last 2 months...which is kind of horrible of me. Honestly, blogging is something I have tried many times and this is the only time I've actually found something I enjoy blogging about BUT I still managed to drift from it as I did get a little distracted with everyday life. 

My goal: I'm aiming for a semi-regular posting schedule, not weekly but perhaps fortnightly, get into the habbit of blogging and go from there. 

This entry: Basically, this entry is to announce my return and relate some of the things I've been up to over the past two months. Read on to find out more and keep an eye out for some more entries.

Warning: this entry contains a LOT of text, I'm just updating you on my life over the past 2 months, if you aren't interested in a long read: move on. :)

In my absence

So my university classes ended early/mid November last year and with my luck of not having any exams I went straight on break. At this moment I am still on break and don't go back until March -- I know that 3-4 months break is insane!! I do have a part-time job and work 3 days a week, so that takes up a bit of time, but mainly I'm on holidays. 

Anyway, so in the past two months...

Movies I've seen

I'm not sure if my memory is lacking or if I just didn't go to the movies much over the last two months, but these two movies stand out in my mind. 

The Hobbit!

Loved this movie, became more interested in the LOTR series as a result of my boyfriend who is obsessed and was absolutely keen to see this film. Was both bummed and excited to hear that the film had been split into 3 sections -- as it meant I had to wait to see the entirety of the series BUT also meant that it was more...so conflicted views there.

The film itself was amazing, the soundtrack was incredible and the film was as visually stunning as the original trilogy. 

Les Miserables
I have many things on my list of things I want to see and do in my life: among those are a lot of things like; see a ballet, opera and musical. Les Mis is something that I would love to see as a live stage performance and when I heard that they were making a film of it, with live singing and starring some of my much loved stars -- honestly, I almost fell over from the excitement. 

This movie was the first film I saw in Gold Class, and it was worth every cent. The experience was amazing! It was the kind of film that left me as a sobbing mass -- but I couldn't cry because I would miss the beauty that was this film!! It was -- true to its name -- a miserable film (content-wise not quality), but it was so stunningly beautiful and captivating and I just loved it. 

My brother actually saw this before me and came home saying it was horrible and didn't understand what the film was about -- so I just want to say that this film: not for everyone. This is a full on musical, I can count the amount of lines that are spoken on one hand -- but for those of us that love musicals, devastating stories and historical fiction...this movie is amazing. 

TV shows

Gilmore Girls
Gilmore Girls follows a single mother and her teenage daughter in their small town. It's a dramatic show with a lot of quirks and the characters are just so loveable. Warning: you will get attached!! 

I recently started the Gilmore Girls series. Honestly, when I was younger I thought this show was about two farm girls on a ranch...so this was never on my "to watch" list. Recently, it has been running on FOX and I caught a few episodes and fell in love a little. 

I think I watched this entire series in a month...maybe less. I did not do much else but watch this series: I was addicted!! 

I found out, when I got up to season 5, that this series was actually cancelled. I don't like to watch series that are cancelled because you get attached to the characters and a lot of the time it isn't wrapped up nicely enough when it is cancelled. I was too far in to stop watching so I continued and honestly, it wasn't that bad an ending for a cancelled show. It was very open though and I was sad to finish this series. 

Will and Grace
Luckily, while I was still finishing Gilmore Girls, Christmas rolled around and my mother had bought me the complete box set of Will and Grace (which I had been wanting for a little over 6 months now). Will and Grace is a comedy about a straight woman (Grace) who is a designer and her gay best friend (Will) who is a lawyer. 

Initially, I lept straight into this series, but having come from a drama where the episodes were 30 minutes or so long to a comedy where the episodes are 15 minutes quick -- my connection to this show died off quickly. I didn't not like the show anymore, it just became obvious that this was not the type of series I could sit down and watch seasons at a time. 

I am currently up to season 7 (of 8) of this series and it's become something I watch as I'm sitting on my laptop or whenever I have a spare moment and feel like watching the TV. I do still love this series and the characters, but I will definitely be moving onto another series with longer episodes after this. 

Sons of Anarchy
Alongside the old series (above) that I watch on my own, and the current series I watch weekly is the series that my boyfriend and I chose to watch together. We have probably watched like 10 different series, it's just something we do. We were watching Dexter, but as we are waiting for the newest season to start we have started Sons of Anarchy. 

Sons of Anarchy is a show about a motorcycle gang in a small town. I honestly would not even know how to explain it -- if you are curious: youtube it. 

There are 5 seasons (currently) and over the last month or less we have gotten up to the current season and are absolutely addicted. Each season gets more complicated and surprising, there is ALWAYS a cliff hanger and it's just insane!! 

Also, I won't spoil anything, but this is not a show that is afraid of killing off important characters. You WILL get attached to these people, but no one is safe -- which is what makes this show so addictive and unpredictable. 

Other
So, I do watch a lot of other shows as well, ones that are current and air weekly on TV, but I think I might do a separate post on that as its more relevant to 'now' than a recap of the last two months. 

Books

Ok, so by now you are all probably thinking all I do is watch TV, but I do other things: one of which (my latest obsession) is reading!!

So, the last entry on this side of my blog was actually a book haul. I showed you the two Philippa Gregory books that I purchased: The White Queen and The Red Queen from her series 'The Cousins Wars'. I have started this series and am in love. 

The White Queen
I read this book quickly: it was incredible. I'm not sure exactly when I picked this book up but I finished it on the 16th of December and I do remember it was a quick read (for me). 

I've actually lent the book to my boyfriend's mother, otherwise I'd stick the blurb here-- but basically its a historical fiction novel, which means it is based on historical events but the author spins her own story around those events to make a cohesive story. It follows Elizabeth Woodville, who was the first non-royal woman to marry a King of England and the war of the roses. The author is incredible and really researchers the history behind her novels, but she really brings the people to life and creates an interesting, and magical (literally) tale. 

The Red Queen
This is the sequel to The White Queen and actually runs parallel to the first novel. It follows Margaret Beaufort, who is mother to Henry Tudor, who later becomes King Henry VII: father to the infamous King Henry VIII...I THINK-- don't quote me on that one. 

This novel took me a longer time to read, I picked it up on the 19th of Decemeber 2012 and finished it on the 14th of January 2013. It was interesting, and well written again, but I just didn't have the same love for it as I did the first. 

The main character in the first novel was so lovable, and I couldn't help but hope and dream for her happy ending and my love for her and her family made it so I HAD to keep reading and it was just addictive. The main character in this novel is actually quite horrible to the woman in the first and comes off very, prudish and mean. 

I tried to keep an open mind going into this second book, and honestly reading about her past and her childhood, really all through the beginning of the novel I really felt so much for this girl -- and even through the entirety of the novel I still held a little hope for her and the guy she loved, even though historically I knew that wasn't her ending. BUT, knowing that her success in her plan to put her son on the throne (which I knew historically had to happen) meant the destruction of a woman I had grown to love and the happiness of her children: I always held disdain for the main character...which doesn't make for easy reading. 

On the plus side, the author managed to make me feel all these conflicting feelings, which is the sign of good writing I guess. 

The Lady of the Rivers
Yes, another one. This is the third book in this series and I own the fourth and am so excited for the fifth. I picked this book up THE SAME DAY I finished the last. I was more excited for this novel than I was the second, and I am more excited for the fifth than I am the fourth. 

Anyway, in six days I had read half of this novel, reading 255 pages. Today, I am up to page 323 and am picking this book up every chance I get.

This novel follows the life of the main woman in the first novel's mother. This book is definitely more magic orientated than the others, which a lot of the fans of this series didn't like: but for me personally I love. It is a beautiful novel, and I can read this one with a light heart knowing the fate of the main character because of the first novel. 

I will post a review of this book when I am done so keep an eye out. 

Social life

With all the TV I have been watching and the books I have swept through I bet you are surprised to even see this section!! Haha! But yes, over the last two months I have done more than simply watch TV and read. 

Of course, there was Christmas just gone so I spent time with mine and my boyfriend's families, but I've also had a few birthdays go by, including my own, so had some gatherings and such. I also held an 'end of year' party in mid December and attended a NYE party on...well NYE obviously. 

I am not really one for going out into town, BUT I did go back into town a few weeks ago and enjoyed myself. I broke my shoe before I even got in there and spent the night walking with a flapping wedge BUT I got to hang out with some of my favourite people so it was worth it. 

Oh! for those of you who read the other side of this blog: the shoes that broke were those $10 ones I was raving about in one of my entries. Must say, for the price I'm not really surprised but at the same time I only wore them 4 times or something and if they can't be fixed, I will be sad to see them go!!

Other than that I have mainly spent my spare time chatting online with friends, been to the beach (first time in over a year -- too long!!) with some friends and spending time with the boyfriend. I still have a month left of holidays so am hoping to get out a bit more before the studying begins again.
 

Wrap up

So, that is my (very long) summary of what I've been up to over the last two months. As usual, this side of my blog will remain used for personal entries of my daily life and updates on things unrelated to beauty/fashion etc. 

For now though, I think I've covered everything -- too much even :P

Over and out,
~eighteen2012-diva
xoxo



Leave a Reply.