Hey all~! 

Just another more "life" type blog, less related to the other side of this blog. Today's entry is a haul a mini review for Yankee Candles. For those who don't know, Yankee Candles are basically these candles that have crazy scents, like "Fluffy Towels" and "Vanilla Cupcake". 

Back Story
I have been pinning over candles for a while now, watching hauls on YouTube from Bath and Body Works and desperately searching for Slatkin and Co candles here in Aus!! Unfortunately,  I didn't find them, BUT I did discover another brand that does jar/container candles in amazing scents and fell in love with them (actually more so than Slatkin and Co due to the range). I found the online official stock store for these candles, and for those of you who are interested pop on over to:

www.yankee.net.au

These candles are VERY expensive, and I have yet to find another way to buy them other than through this online store. If anyone knows any other (reliable) sources to buy these candles, leave a comment below.

On this site, the sampler candles (votives) are $4.95 and the medium 2-wick jar candles (tumblers) are $39.99. Postage is $15 standard (which I was kinda bummed about) but in the end I couldn't pass up the chance to own and try these candles. 

Read on to see what I bought and my initial thoughts!!
Haul!!


So, I decided to get a medium tumbler (the jar looking candle in the picture) and (because of pricing) buy a whole range of sampler candles to try out. 
I'll start with the sampler candles!!

As I said, I bought 8 of these little guys (top row, left to right):
Sparkling Lemon
Christmas Cookie
Wedding Day
White Gardenia

AND (bottom row, left to right):
Sweet Strawberry
Fresh Cut Roses
Creamy Caramel
Home Sweet Home
So, first of all, when I first unwrapped all these little guys from their bubble wrap home I was flooded with all their scents! As such, I do reccommend having somewhere sealed to keep these guys, cause all together they are overwhelming!! 

I have burned three of them: Sparkling Lemon, Fresh Cut Roses and Sweet Strawberry.

I liked Sparkling Lemon initially, it was a nice fresh burst of citrus in my room, but after a few hours (and yes, these samplers can last a while - still haven't used it all) the smell seems to build up on itself and is too much for me. Now the smell, even when not lit, is too much for me and I think I might have to toss that one if it doesn't go well the next time I try to burn it. 

Fresh Cut Roses, however, was very strong when I first unwrapped it, it was like actually sniffing a rose!! I was really worried that this scent would becoming overpowering but I burned this one for 4 hours yesterday and have had it lit today for 2-3 hours and it's just so pleasant. When lit, this candle has a gentle scent, it spreads through the room and is subtle, but not non-existent. It's the kind of scent that spreads subtly while you are in the room, but if you leave the room and come back its very noticeable. I may purchase this one in a tumbler at a later date. 

Sweet Strawberry!! Now, there was no way I could be disappointed with this one. I love strawberries and I love strawberry scents! Even strawberry scents that are like obviously artificial are appealing to me so I knew that I would love this candle!! So, I've been burning this one for the past two days, around 4+ hours yesterday and I've just lit it today. It's amazing, so nice and fresh and just amazing. The scent spreads well and it's just so pleasant. 
Picture
The Tumbler: Vanilla Cupcake. 

The whole appeal of these candles, for me, was the range of scents! As an avid YouTube watcher I have heard about the Slatkin and Co "Buttercream" scented candles and have been desperately searching for something similar ever since!! 

Vanilla Cupcake was the scent that I was looking to buy when I found the Yankee candle website and so I didn't even think twice when I decided to buy the tumbler over the smaller sampler candles. When I pulled this candle out of the box and lifted off the lid, honestly, the scent overwhelmed me. It smelled like vanilla, but not like a cupcake to me, and it was so early in the morning that I just pouted thinking I hated it and went back to sleep. A few hours later I woke up and decided to smell it again, and it was better, I could smell the cupcake in it. Every time I smell this candle it just seems to get better. I love it. I haven't even lit the bugger yet and I am in love. 

This candle is a medium tumbler jar candle and will burn for 40-50 hours! Isn't that insane? I'm so happy that I put my money out and bought these!! Although, I don't recommend buying and burning the cupcake or any of the food candles if you are on a diet or haven't eaten!! They smell so delicious and definitely make you want a cupcake!! :P

Overall opinon: love love love. Will probably be asking for a tumbler for Christmas from my partner - definitely a splurge product due to the price. 

Well that is all for today! I may being posting a book haul, collection and review later on, so keep your eyes out for that if you're interested!! 

Have a great week~!

~eighteen2012-diva



Leave a Reply.